How To Become An HVAC Technician – Louisiana

Becoming an HVAC technician is extremely easy compared to other states in the United States. Currently the state has no laws that apply directly to the technician. The only requirement is for HVAC contractors that earn more than $50,000 annually to apply for a license which costs about $100 per year.

Louisiana HVAC technicians do not need to register with the state nor hold a license. HVAC certification isn’t even necessary. Most employers do want technicians that already hold their EPA Section 608 examination (all types), however it is not required.

Louisiana is one of the lower paying states when it comes to HVAC salary, but it doesn’t mean that the job doesn’t pay well. Most technicians in Louisiana will spend their time working on A/C and refrigeration units more than they will heating units and ventilation systems. Here’s more information about HVAC training and the job market in Louisiana:

HVAC Technician Salary Louisiana – $32,000 (National Average – $42,000)

New Orleans – $33,000
Baton Rouge – $32,000
Shreveport – $28,000
Lafayette – $27,000
Lake Charles – $35,000

HVAC Certification Schools Louisiana

New Orleans

Delgado Community College-City Park Campus
615 City Park Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70119
504-483-4114
www.dcc.edu

Baton Rouge

Louisiana Techncial College-T H Harris
PO Box 713, Opelousas, LA 70570
337-948-0239
www.ltc.edu

Shreveport

Louisiana Technical College-Shreveport
2010 N. Market, Shreveport, LA 71107
318-676-7811
www.ltc.edu

Lafayette

Louisiana Technical College-LaFayette
1101 Bertrand Drive, LaFayette, LA 70502
337-262-5962
www.ltc.edu

HVAC Certification by State, HVAC Training

Comments are closed.